Sunday, October 2, 2016

Reading Through the Classics: The Sherlock Holmes Series

TITLE: The Sherlock Holmes series
AUTHOR: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
PUBLICATION Started: 1887 Finished:1927
GENRE: Mystery
PREMISE: A brilliant detective solves mysteries in England.
THOUGHTS: Over the past several months I've been going through the Sherlock Holmes series. It's been a process. Not because the books are hard. In fact, they're very easy books to understand. It's just they get repetitive. Now, I have read some Sherlock Holmes before this year. I read The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes a few years ago back when the Robert Downy Jr. movies started. I also did The Hound of Baskervilles back when the Sherlock TV show did their version of it. 
To everyone moaning about how they became a procedural on CBS: please. That's actually the perfect format for these books. If you don't think so, that actually tells me you've maybe never actually read these books. Or if you have, you have a very rosy eyed view of them. Which can be a issue with a lot of Sherlock Holmes book readers. As poor Arthur Conan Doyle found out when he tried to quit writing the series.
If you only read one or two of the books, I recommend going for A Study in Scarlet and then either The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes or Hound of Baskervilles. The rest aren't very necessary, unless you want bragging rights about how you've read the whole series. Which, honestly, is mostly why I read the whole thing. 
WHO SHOULD READ: Die-hard Sherlock Holmes fans, you want to say you've read the whole thing
ORDER OF SERIES: A Study in Scarlet
The Sign of Four
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
The Hound of Baskervilles
The Return of Sherlock Holmes
The Valley of Fear
His Last Bow
The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes

Note: sorry about weird formatting, blogger was being a pain today for some reason.

No comments:

Post a Comment